Skip to content

surprised by something old, sounding new

October 10, 2007

The Boss has a new record out and the man. can. rock.

Now I’m not a girl known for too much of a straightahead rock taste, and haven’t heard a new Springsteen song since I wore out my Tunnel of Love tape. Wonder what I’ve been missing.

Go listen to Radio Nowhere LOUD and see for yourself! You’ll be looking for an old truck or a spaceship, a wide open road, and someone at your side to tell it all to. There’s a lot being written about this record (even on 60 Minutes for crying out loud), but I’m not going to add anything to that here. As usual, I am simply rapt, in love, and wanting to hand that feeling to you.

I mean, look at that face.

Magic

And while we are in music territory, I can’t fail to mention the new Joe Henry record, Civilians. There are few things you can depend on in this world, and Joe Henry is one of them.

Both are showing the marks of a great record, a great artist: lure you in close enough with an irresistible rhythm, then tear your heart and mind open with the details of living with each other or without each other. As JH says in the liner notes, “Loose lips, desperation, and convenient morality might make for tense dinner conversation, but put them in waltz time and even the young people lay down their assault rifles and start crowding up next to the stage.”

p.s. we have a new look here at SC2S, but that header image isn’t loading that fast for me. Let me know if it’s a pain for you, and I’ll mess with it some more.

One Comment leave one →
  1. craftyinfidel permalink
    October 10, 2007 3:21 pm

    I just caught up on your posts and I love the new header. I really need to figure out how to load my own photo into my header- I know wordpress gives pretty good directions on that. So maybe I actually jsut need to take a photo I like!
    I’ll definitely check out the music. I’ve been hearing all kinds of things about this Springsteen album.
    Your writing is fantastic and a perfect compliment to the awesome photos.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

