Skip to content

a winter forest of things

January 15, 2011

It’s been a quiet six months here on SC2S, but busy and interesting in life. Perhaps I’m a slow blogger at heart, ruminating on what happens next in the garden and for us. Through all of it, there is the swirl of creative people and what they do out in the world to inspire and delight.

Animal Logic by Richard Barnes


Rain Girl papercut by Elsita


Winter Milepost by Tim Pugh

My mind’s been chewing on writing themes and writing issues, both for fun and profit, and I read something by Marion Roach that grounded me right back down:

My father, a fine sportswriter, used to say that you should try to write everything like a letter home, a suggestion that’s both graceful and correct. In a letter home you rarely tell those people who raised you how very great you are, or right you are, or unique. You tend to write about the ideas you are trying on, or the things you’ve tried and failed; how scared you are, or how lonely. You are the small dog when you write a letter home, telling how you’ve changed or what you’ve witnessed, and while you might wish they were here, they’re not, so get your facts right and put the bold, brash bragging aside, because these guys knew you when, and they can still kick your emotional ass if you get out of line.

Being with and looking at animals never stops.

My father-in-law’s Pointer, Belle, hunting quail in Kansas

nor does thinking about livable spaces with light and life in them, anticipating a move next year,

from the book, Handmade Houses

and happy that if we move in 2011 to where diggable dirt is rare, we can still go farm in a truck.

Happy New Year everyone. What are you ruminating about?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. grwhryrpltd permalink
    January 15, 2011 10:51 pm

    hmm, ruminations aplenty! like what kinda rare dirt void are you thinking of jumping into…?

    • January 16, 2011 6:51 pm

      well let’s say it alll depends on the academic job mkt this year!

  2. Barbara Nogales permalink
    January 16, 2011 7:48 am

    Thanks for sharing what Marion Roach said about writing…. “to write everything like a letter home, a suggestion that’s both graceful and correct. In a letter home you rarely tell those people who raised you how very great you are, or right you are, or unique. You tend to write about the ideas you are trying on, or the things you’ve tried and failed; how scared you are, or how lonely.” I was going through some of my mom’s old boxes that I am storing for her. Things I forgot to take to Colorado when we moved her. I found letters she received from her children written over the years, during different stages of their lives. Of course, the only ones I read were those written by me. They were full of ideas I was trying on, those that were successful and the failures as well; sharing how scared and lonely I felt at times; how content and confident at others.
    I love your blog Lynn. I love the way you write. Thanks for sharing. It is a big gift you give to others.

    • January 16, 2011 6:51 pm

      Thanks for sharing you and this incredibly thoughtful comment, Barb :)

  3. January 16, 2011 8:07 am

    I am trying to avoid ruminating, as it would not be positive at this point. I am more inclined to distraction at the moment.

    (BTW, I love Handmade Houses and have a very worn copy that I have had since about age 14)

    • January 16, 2011 6:53 pm

      Hope that they are positive distractions for you, and that there are better days ahead.
      I discovered the book via someone’s Flickr feed (Old Chum–he scans a bunch of old stuff, and I’ve no idea how it’s not copyright infringement). I’d love to have the time and space to build something like that one day.

  4. January 16, 2011 1:20 pm

    I’d heard advice similar to Roach’e attributed to John McPhee: “Write Dear Mom at the top of the page. Write the article. Go back and erase the Dear Mom part.”

    • January 16, 2011 6:54 pm

      Well I’m going to put it into practice and see how it goes. We’ll see if my editors like it :)

  5. Kylie permalink
    January 17, 2011 1:34 pm

    Lovely ruminations and lovely pictures too. I’ve been ruminating on putting in a permaculture bed outside my house, (rather than the farm around the corner,) the wonders of dog brains, and cob-building. Would like to build a hand-made house someday! Will have to check out the Library for a copy of that book.

    • January 24, 2011 12:35 pm

      Permaculture! I need to learn so much more about that. Dog brains are endlessly fascinating.

  6. January 20, 2011 2:02 pm

    Hi, Lynn. I am deeply honored by the quote from my blog. Thank you. And thanks for visiting us on my post about Roller Derby. How lovely to make this connection. I look forward to many more cross-posts in future.

    • January 24, 2011 12:35 pm

      Thank you, Marion, for sharing the inspiration. Derby on!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

