Skip to content

Why this blog isn’t about house plants

February 24, 2014

20140224-155840.jpgMaybe it was that college job taking care of plants in malls, banks, and businesses for my sister’s company that put me off house plants forever, or maybe the poor rosemary was just too close to the floor vent. The Venus flytrap, sad to report, also bit the dust. A tropical plant on a windowsill in a bloody cold Chicago winter is bound to suffer. Or maybe I just overwatered it. The postmortem was skipped.

My mom and sisters have gorgeous plants inside. Mine die. Well, the non-succulents die. So far we are keeping alive a few small jades, a zygocactus, some hens & chicks I didn’t want to unpot, and one surprisingly tough eyelash begonia. All brought from NY, and all that would fit in the car. I owe them that.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2014 10:27 pm

    The only cure for houseplant death = more plants.

  2. February 24, 2014 10:28 pm

    Personally I think you are not the reason. Rosemary plants die for most of us and Venus fly traps always run out of bugs. I’m glad to see you blogging again. By the way do you have a print copy of the page that your top 20 favorite garden blogs no longer connects with? I was blogging with dial up then and couldn’t support the button so I printed it. If you would like a copy leave yourcomplete mailing address on a blog comment marked not for publishing and I’ll make a copy and send it to you. I know how thrilled I was to be on that list.

    • March 20, 2014 9:32 pm

      Hi Becky! I was thrilled, too, and thank you for letting me know it no longer works. I removed it. My blog is so sadly untended. I’ll get in touch via your blog.

  3. March 3, 2014 11:28 am

    I always forget to water, but they usually make it to May when I haul them outside, half dead, to spend the summer in recovery, only to move them back in to start the decline all over again in the fall.

  4. March 8, 2014 7:17 pm

    I just don’t relate to houseplants. They always die of thirst, and then I feel bad. Finally I broke the cycle. The only house plants I care for now are forced bulbs or forsythia branches.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

