Skip to content

the time-jamming power of cloudy skies

October 19, 2007

It’s 3:15 p.m. but it looks exactly as it did at 11:15 and presumably as at 7:15 a.m., though I was not awake to see that. Today is my day off.

Every 20 minutes or so it pours for a while, then the skies stop to recharge, as they are now. I’m taking this day that feels like it will last forever to work on photo projects and think about some themes I heard Salman Rushdie talk about last night when he spoke at Cornell, one especially that feels like my own, but am happy to know is also the living question of so many authors, photographers, and artists:

“Among the great struggles of man—good/evil, reason/unreason, etc.—there is also this mighty conflict between the fantasy of Home and the fantasy of Away, the dream of roots and the mirage of the journey.” (from The Ground Beneath Her Feet)

from summer

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Ariana permalink
    October 20, 2007 4:53 pm

    Not a day goes by lately that we don’t have that same debate! Do we buy a home now and settle into stable family life, or run away from our jobs and routines to see the world first? We’re lucky to have choices…

  2. craftyinfidel permalink
    October 21, 2007 6:40 pm

    What a wonderful quote. I read that book, but had forgotten that one. i have a particularly interesting Home Fantasy when I happen to be away. I think constantly about what I’ll get up once I get home- how I’ll put all my new ideas and inspiration to work. Inevitably I start to believe that even though I’ve never been very efficient, I will somehow magically transform into someone who can follow up on all the idea sketches and make complete projects out of them. I write little schedules in my head and apparently believe that I’m still hyperactive like I was in highschool when every waking hour was filled with one creative thing after another, and I still managed to get my homework done. Ah, youth.

  3. bloomlikeflowers permalink
    October 22, 2007 5:01 pm

    yes, the blessing/curse of choices! I never could buy a house because there just might be somewhere I wanted to go very quickly (and did!), but I kick myself for the equity I was *not* building during the housing bubble while I hemmed and hawwed. grrrrr.
    I’m just like Crafty–when I’m away, everything is possible. The heavy coat of routine comes off and the warm winds of inspiration waft around, and you just know you will be different at the end. Maybe these little adventures all lead up to big transformations one day. Maybe we just get good souvenirs.

  4. October 23, 2007 9:21 pm

    Yeah. What Salman said. I’m the gardener. That’s Elly’s Airstream in the driveway.

Leave a Reply

