Skip to content

a dead Queen

July 24, 2008

So I’m riding in to work on the bus this morning, half sleepy, thankful for the coffee my honey made me to go, generally happy and enjoying the green flowery summeriness, when we started down Maple Ave. Then, to my horror, I had to watch as an entire swath of Queen Anne’s Lace, which might just be the loveliest non-poisonous summer wildflower around, was being weed-whacked to the ground by two thugs in safety glasses! The whole floaty patch that had waved for a good 30 yards along the road was almost gone, the ground now plain, boring, good as dead. I’m no conspiracy theorist, but it’s worth noting that the decimated umbels were happily showing off right outside some greenhouses and plastic-mulched rows for dozens of varieties of cultivated flowers (who gets them on their table is a mystery), and maybe Queen Anne and that tatty lace were just too…unbecoming.

Reminds me of the scene in the Alice in Wonderland movie:

Rose bud: I think she’s pretty!

Rose: Quiet, bud!

Alice: But I’m not a flower!

Snap-dragon: Aha! Just as I suspected! She’s nothing but a common mobile vulgaris!

Flowers: Oh no!

Alice: A common what?

Snap-dragon: To put it bluntly: a weed!

Alice: I’m not a weed!

Tulip: Well, you wouldn’t expect her to admit it.

Lilac: Can you imagine!

Marguerite: Well, goodness!

Lily: Don’t let her stay here and go to seed!

I’m only calling this a wildflower tragedy because everyone but everyone besides us has these growing 4-ft tall. There is one, one, blooming on the street just over the line into the neighbor’s property. We have the chicory though–I love blue.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 25, 2008 3:05 pm

    Funny how they mowed all the QAL and left all of the poke!

Leave a Reply

