Skip to content

I dreamed i was in a field of bulb foliage

November 10, 2008

…and I was at ground level, the leaves all kind of crowding in on me, not entirely friendly, like Alice when she was just small. I don’t remember any flowers, only leaves. This was the night after a mad planting dash last week to get the most recent impulse purchases–muscari and blue tulips–along with the crocuses for the lawn into the ground before the weekend cold and oncoming snow.
I think I’m worried that nothing will bloom! Or that I will have planned badly and have masses of leaves with nothing to cover them up come June.

It would serve me right for coming late to the craze, planting late, and now looking like I’m stealing Craig’s idea with my little list (which is not nearly as esoteric as Mr. Ellis Hollow’s), but here’s what is finally in the ground (ok almost all). I can’t wait for spring!

Allium caeruleum – 20 – planted all in the new blue/white flower bed in front
Allium rosenbachianum – 10 – 5 in the blue/white bed and 5 in the veggie patch
Allium triquetrum – 10 – back flower bed under the trees
Bellavalia pycnantha (Giant grape hyacinth) – 15 – bought for the blue/white bed but planted way out back under the big tree
Species crocus – 200 – bought a mix to plant drifts in the grass. 100 still in the bag…
Iris reticulata histrioides ‘Katharine Hodgkin’ – 25 – 8 or so in back, the rest in the front blue/white and porch beds
Heirloom Species Lily davidii – 5 – 1 in the blue/white bed and the rest in the porch bed
Muscari alba white wild hyacinths – 12 – bought for the blue/white bed but planted in back under the big tree
Narcissus poeticus and 2 other varieties – 20 or 30-odd each, given by our neighbor and Kathy Purdy’s neighbor. Planted in the blue/white bed, in the porch bed, and under the crabapple tree
Nectaroscordum siculum also called the Sicilian honey lily! – 8 – planted around the stump with the penstemons
Species tulip mix – 15 – planted in the probably too-wet-for-them-porch bed. The link goes to a good article.
Blue Parrot Tulip – 5 – bought on impulse since I’m not a tulip fan usually, but they’re blue!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2008 9:25 am

    It seems totally against the rules to have anxiety dreams about gardening – it’s supposed to be a therapeutic endeavor, right? (I’m secretly glad that I’m not the only one…) I predict though that your worry will be rewarded with plentiful abundance – of blooms!

  2. November 11, 2008 8:07 pm

    Anything you’re totally engrossed in can wind up in your dreams, especially if you’re a teeny bit unsure of the outcome. I’m with Kris: it will be a dream come true next spring.

  3. November 11, 2008 9:46 pm

    Well, maybe a little anxiety is in order. After all, you’re still pretty new to winters here. And the idea of sticking these little gems in the ground and expecting them to bloom next year is a leap of faith, isn’t it. That’s what bulbs are all about.

    Now if I were newly transplanted to Vegas or Austin, I’d be wondering how my plants (and me) were ever going to get through the summer.

  4. November 12, 2008 12:56 am

    Narcissus poeticus are the best bulbs I’ve ever planted. Love, love, love ’em. Plus they are fragrant. I have planted Katherine Hodgkin twice with poor results. Just enough to get a few good photos! We’ll be looking forward to spring with you.

Leave a Reply

