Skip to content

Winter bloom day

February 14, 2009

Yes, there’s just one blogger’s bloom day for me this winter. I suppose 15 March will still be in winter, but that’s close enough to the solstice for me to be thinking spring by then. Thank you to May Dreams Gardens for the way to share on bloom day.

Eyelash begonia in January

Eyelash begonia, January

Eyelash begonia in January. There was just this one.

Eyelash begonia in January

Andrea's begonia, January. Is it a rex? I don't know.

Andrea's begonia, January. Is it a rex? I don't know.

Blooms this rare and precious get their own shot.

Blooms this rare and precious get their own shot.

February flurries

February flurries

in the February thaw, I found life outside

in the February thaw, I found life outside

memories of flowers

memories of flowers

But aren’t we just supposed to be content with “winter interest”?

memories of a mammal

Memories of a mammal

8 Comments leave one →
  1. grwhryrpltd permalink
    February 15, 2009 2:39 am

    isn’t it amazing where you can find life (or the remains thereof) in the depths of winter…? hello sweet begonia, how i miss you and your new tendress! and i was just thinking of that same begonia while plant shopping the other day – a rain storm chased us into the greenhouse, and who did i find, but the begonias. not an escargot in the lot, but some other rexes to admire…

  2. February 15, 2009 11:24 am

    I don’t know where you’re located, Lynn, but here in the Midwest we’re in much the same condition. It’s much too early yet for spring, but there is certainly plenty of “winter interest” :) Lovely photos; thanks for sharing.

  3. February 15, 2009 11:29 am

    You should write an ode to Begonias. Very sweet little flowers. And your outdoor shots are interesting… winter interest… and what is that mammal?

  4. February 15, 2009 12:24 pm

    All new to me. Where are you? Lovely, thanks for sharing.

  5. February 15, 2009 2:55 pm

    Love your blog description! We’ve had strange weather here in the mid south! Cold then warmer, then very cold then really warm, now it’s heading down to the twenties again…not so god for budding trees and perennials. love the begonia shots! Gail

  6. February 15, 2009 9:37 pm

    Even with your sole begonia and especially with the thawing pansy outside–You can tell spring will be here soon enough! Even with what I have going on in the garden now, I can tell a lot of plants are still waiting for the REAL spring. Wimps, I tell ya. I should show them pictures of your pansy in the snow.

  7. February 16, 2009 4:16 am

    I think I like the flower memories better than the mammal memory, but it certainly does provide “interest!”

    “Eyelash begonia” seems very appropriate-The top picture looks like those two petals are just waiting to blink.

  8. March 5, 2009 1:27 pm

    Found your blog during a google image search for photos of the Ag Quad… I graduated in May from Cornell and moved west to New Mexico for work, so your photos make me happy and nostalgic for Ithaca… they are beautiful! Also I think you may have found in that last photo is a small fox skull… poor little guy (I hear it was a damn cold winter up there).

    Hope your semester is going well, thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

