Skip to content

good morning, sunshine

February 25, 2009
at the bus stop

at the bus stop

We woke up to sun, two days in a row! A Monday night snowstorm and cold cold temps brought winter back, but there is give in it now. A recent thaw reminded me I hadn’t felt the ground squish under my feet since late December, and its softness felt strange. Over the weekend, I found crocus shoots coming up under the trees.

Then it iced over again, and my honey, AKA Arctic Man, said, unprovoked, “Second winter is harder than first winter.” And then during the Monday snowfall, “I’m ready for spring.”

So it isn’t just me. For now I’m enjoying the sunshine, thrilling at the ice jams, loving daylight until almost 6 p.m., and not thinking about the freezing rain that’s on its way.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2009 9:31 pm

    So where’d you see crocus? I went looking for a little patch of snowdrops that are usually out early on the north side of tower road down toward ILR, but didn’t see any.

    I don’t think I’ve given you my ‘April is the cruelest month … ‘ missive yet. I’ll save it until after we have some spring like weather.

  2. February 25, 2009 9:38 pm

    I saw crocus in OUR YARD!! :) Just shoots, no flowers yet.
    I planted a hundred or so on a little hillock that faces south, under a crabapple tree and cascading down into the yard (a bunch of narcissus, too, but closer under the tree–i think). It’s the sunniest and best-drained spot in the yard right now. I should have topped the bulb holes with more dirt though, since I can see where the freeze/thaw cycle has emphasized the holes I made. Thinking I can still top them off a bit, if the dirt doesn’t just run down the hill.
    p.s. snowdrops by ILR? By any chance near the cool Buddleia all sort of gray-blue and dry right by the sidewalk? I love those.

    April is the cruelest month? Neko Case plays the State Theater on my honey’s b-day and we have tickets!!! So at least it has that going for it :) Well, and my birthday too, a big one!

  3. March 1, 2009 11:46 pm

    Cool–clear streets AND clear skies! You’re definitely not alone with that winter thing. My recent week in Chicago gave me a little taste for your real winter. It was exotic for a Californian, but I can see how it could get tired fast! If the crocuses are fed up with their winter nap, I’m sure everyone else must be too.

  4. March 3, 2009 4:23 pm

    That’s funny about the crocuses being fed up with winter :) We are, too, especially now that it’s back in force with below zero wind chills. But as a long-time Southwesterner, winter is still exotic to me, too, and I keep trying to approach it with a sense of adventure–and lots of down outerwear!

Leave a Reply

