Skip to content

skipping through spring

March 22, 2009

…and heading straight for summer.

I blame the seed & plant catalogs. What else is there to do during the long long time it’s taking for our little bulbs to show themselves but look and lust? (i can think of plenty.) This flower just changed my mind about goofy hybrids, ’cause I’ve been downright disdainful of the Echinacea ‘Poodle’s and ‘Tomato Soup’s and ‘Tiki Torch’es. I guess they just hadn’t gotten goofy enough for me, until now.

Echinacea 'Green Envy'

Echinacea 'Green Envy'

Only $50 for 3 plants. Even with a nice tax refund coming, I’m not that green with envy.
Come on little bulbs! Hurry up!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2009 7:11 am

    Oh but this is not goofy at all – it’s sublime! (hey look – a pun!) Are you ordering it from Wayside? Let me know how the plants look when they come in – I’ve been after this one for a while now for me and Bwold… (mostly me)

  2. March 23, 2009 10:03 am

    Hey Kris! It is sublime–you’re right. I haven’t had a gut reaction like that about a plant in a while!
    I saw it in the Song Sparrow catalog (the image links there), but don’t think I’m going to order one. The knowledge that we are most likely moving in summer 2010 has me reining in garden expenditures :( But the idea of having it has taken hold, and hopefully when we move to where we’ll stay at for a while, I’ll plant this and other gems. I’m itching to plant dwarf conifers and apple trees.

  3. March 23, 2009 11:54 pm

    ooh – i see we swoon at the same promise of chartreuse beauty…! i too balked at the price tag for that one. surely the plain jane echinacea will make friends with the lime green zinnias this year. oh wait, that means i need to get a plain jane echinacea… you are still adding to my 2009 plant list… all while keeping your 2010 plans in the shed…! is it time to sharpen the shovels yet? i hear they know how to hone ’em in tejas…

Leave a Reply

