Skip to content

Docent Days 7: How to lead a tour

April 15, 2009
Herb garden, 9:02 a.m., 14 April 2009

Herb garden, 9:02 a.m., 14 April 2009

The lovely yellow of the Cornus mas tree began a little over 2 weeks ago. To stand under this one spreading out at the cusp of spring is like being under a thousand tiny suns straining warmth.

forced color

forced color


The container garden emerges. By the end of summer, it is a contained tropical forest.

docent-days-7-3899

the Catalpa wakes more slowly

the Catalpa wakes more slowly

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2009 11:56 pm

    ah, cornus mas… if you ever want to experiment with making a interesting tasting beverage made from the fruits of the minature sunshine maker, i know just the one in thompson park. but maybe the cornelian cornelian cherry (double word intended) makes for loftier tasting delicacies…? cheers lady.

  2. April 16, 2009 2:39 pm

    Hello Lynn! Thanks for stopping by and saying hi. It’s very nice to ‘meet’ you :)
    You have no idea how excited I am to see these photos of Cornell Plantations! Ever since K&K were married there in ’06 I’ve been in love with the place. It would be such a treat to visit it whenever I had the urge… there’s so much to see! My husband and I were there on March 29th in ’07 and saw the Cornus Mas in bloom. It was my first sighting ever of this magnificent tree and it lives in my mind as a beautiful memory. Your description of it is perfect!
    I fondly remember the little patch of aconites close by.
    The hellebores are incredible. I love them grouped together and badly want a group in my own garden. I have one tiny, lonely plant which amazingly made it through a second winter, but I haven’t seen it bloom yet.
    Have you seen the amazing peony garden in May (we saw it in ’07), or the Japanese anemones in September? I could go on and on…but this is supposed to be just a short comment :)
    What an interesting job this will be for you.
    I love the container garden….all those spring bulbs are so beautiful. I remember the tropicals too. Wonderful cannas and more. Even pineapples on the concrete entryway.
    Thanks so much for these wonderful photos and this series of posts…which bring back such pleasant memories.
    Hannah is settling in very well. She was afraid to go outside at first, but not so much now, especially when I’m out there with her. She’s enjoying the freedom. I love this cat! :) But I’m sad that K&K had to part with her.
    I’ll stop back again, and hope you’ll visit my blog again too.

Leave a Reply

