Skip to content

a lazy Sunday of wall building

May 12, 2009

Turns out it was three Sundays ago that I got back to last fall’s front wall project. You might recall it took me most of the end of the summer to finally figure out what to do with it, realize what I’d gotten myself into, and that it was well into fall before it got done. And that just meant I’d gotten as far as I could figure out.

This time around, I charged past analysis paralysis, driven by the urge to put plants in the ground. With that and some experience, I accomplished more in a day that I’d done in months before. Borrowing our neighbor’s trailer for one last giant rock run helped, too. So here it is, the blue+white bed, all walled in. I think I’ve taken most of the moisture off that side of the ditch, which I regret a bit. I wish it didn’t look quite so…heavy. The next one will be better.
(If you click a gallery image, it shows up bigger, with the next thumbnail showing below it to click like a slideshow.)

Planted:
Russian Blue Sage
Allium rosenbachianum
Allium caeruleum
Iris reticulata histrioides ‘Katharine Hodgkin’
variegated Sedum, maybe ‘Autumn Joy’
Lily davidii (for a splash of orange)
Narcissus poeticus
Nectaroscordum siculum
Veronica ‘Sunny Border Blue’
Lemon Balm
Salvia (forgot which)
Linum perenne, perennial flax
small Shasta daisies
Veronicastrum virginicum, Culver’s Root
Eryngium yuccifolium, Rattlesnake Master
Bent love grass
Blue fescue
Switch grass, Panicum virgatum ‘Heavy Metal’
various stonecrop
Penstemon ‘Husker’s Red’
Colchicums
Anthyllis vulneraria, Kidney vetch
Iris sibirica
Eupatorium maculatum, Joe-Pye Weed
Chelone glabra, Turtlehead
Indian sweet grass
Papaver somniferum, Bread seed poppies

Planned for the open middle area:
Pycnanthemum muticum, Mountain mint
Caryopteris divaricata ‘Snow Fairy’ maybe
Echinops ritro, Blue Globe thistle (winter-sown seedlings coming up!)
Penstemon digitalis if the seeds ever emerge

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2009 1:16 am

    Just think how much better the project will turn out now that you’ve been thinking of the details all winter. I’ve got some blue fescue and the penstemon in different parts of my garden. I think they’ll combine nicely in yours. Congratulations on getting this far–it looks really nice, and it’ll be spectacular as the plants hit their stride.

    • May 13, 2009 8:13 am

      Thanks! It feels great to have it done. Maybe now I can really garden! And I
      forgot a whole bunch of plants so have added to that list since last night.

Leave a Reply

