Skip to content

purple rain

May 30, 2009

Tuesday afternoon, the garden greeted me with sparkling, raindropped blues and purples, my favorite tones, especially on a blustery day.

the new blue+white bed growing into its name

the new blue+white bed growing into its name

Allium rosenbachianum, showing off streetside

Allium rosenbachianum, showing off streetside

Perennial flax, coyly drooping in the rain, but open faced when the sun shines

Perennial flax, coyly drooping in the rain, but open faced when the sun shines

indigenous Irises--they came with the house

indigenous Irises--they came with the house

Volunteer Lupines

Volunteer Lupines

The blue Parrot Tulips are growing on me

The blue Parrot Tulips are growing on me

Still not blue, but making me happy

Still not blue, but making me happy

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2009 11:33 am

    tell me, how do you get blue lupines to voluntarily grow in your garden? i’m guessing you put some of your austin hoodoo magic to work… lovely! can’t wait to see how your Alium schubertii’s come out.

    • May 31, 2009 9:33 pm

      Hmm, I must be doing some Austin hoodoo magic subconsciously! The lupines were here when I got here, and were pink! Their seedlings have gone back to wild, I guess. The schubertiis are coming up strong! I worried for a while about the front-most one, but it’s pushing up a bloom at last. I really wonder where the Nectaroscordums went–none have shown up at all. Maybe this is more of a lupine kind of place ;)

Leave a Reply

