Skip to content

Hungry for change? See “Food, Inc.” and then try not to.

June 30, 2009

foodincOfficial Food, Inc. Movie Site – Hungry for Change?

I’m pretty excited to hear that the movie, Food, Inc., is coming out soon. It speaks frankly about a whole lot of issues surrounding the industrialized food system in America–and not from the perspective of the big companies running the system (though they were invited to participate). It’s about how food is making people sick (some gravely) and obese, the unnatural processes and conditions that make farm animals sick and miserable, and the corporate and market pressures that harm farmers, workers, and the land.

I hope it will help show Americans how strange our food chain has become, and that some of them might become uncomfortable with some of these facts, and that some might begin to think differently about what’s healthy to eat. Mostly, I hope it gets people talking. Not everyone will agree, of course, but this conversation is urgent and complex. If you know me, you know I stopped eating meat years ago because I personally can’t stomach the factory farming system. So I’d be happy to talk to anyone who’d like to about that choice and more, and their impacts.

Like how when enough people ask Wal-Mart or McDonalds to stop using GMO potatoes or selling dairy products that include bovine growth hormones, they eventually stop, so farm practices change radically, and fast, because of those two huge buyers. It goes the other way, too, since when your voice is silent, what the market hears is the corporate voice, and it does not have your health and best interest at heart.

I believe this film will show you the bizarre ways we have let ourselves be sold nutritional lies for the lowest price. I believe that once we are aware of what goes on, as consumers and people who must eat every day, we won’t be able to ignore it. I believe it can all be healthier: our food, our farm animals and land, our workers, our attitudes, and our lives. See and read for yourself, and then let’s talk. There is still so much to do, and figure out.

The conversation is happening on NPR, Salon, the NY Times, and many other outlets.

It doesn’t have blockbuster distribution, so I hope you will seek it out. Release dates are here. Find showtimes in your area here.

How much do we really know about the food we buy at our supermarkets and serve to our families?

In Food, Inc., filmmaker Robert Kenner lifts the veil on our nation’s food industry, exposing the highly mechanized underbelly that has been hidden from the American consumer with the consent of our government’s regulatory agencies, USDA and FDA. Our nation’s food supply is now controlled by a handful of corporations that often put profit ahead of consumer health, the livelihood of the American farmer, the safety of workers and our own environment. We have bigger-breasted chickens, the perfect pork chop, herbicide-resistant soybean seeds, even tomatoes that won’t go bad, but we also have new strains of E. coli–the harmful bacteria that causes illness for an estimated 73,000 Americans annually. We are riddled with widespread obesity, particularly among children, and an epidemic level of diabetes among adults.

Featuring interviews with such experts as Eric Schlosser (“Fast Food Nation”), Michael Pollan (“The Omnivore’s Dilemma,” “In Defense of Food: An Eater’s Manifesto”) along with forward thinking social entrepreneurs like Stonyfield’s Gary Hirshberg and Polyface Farms’ Joel Salatin, Food, Inc. reveals surprising–and often shocking truths–about what we eat, how it’s produced, who we have become as a nation and where we are going from here.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. kris permalink
    June 30, 2009 7:59 pm

    Whoa. It was hard enough to read about this stuff in Omnivores and In Defense of Food but Joel Salatin is my hero and it’s coming to my favorite Newport theater on July 24th. I guess that means I need to see it! Thanks for the heads up.

    • June 30, 2009 10:31 pm

      Kris, I’ll be really interested to hear your thoughts. It plays here a day after we leave for 10 days, so I hope it’ll still be running end of July. Ithaca will be a captive audience. And Joel Salatin is pretty cool (and that was b4 I knew he wore a cowboy hat like my dad used to have ;)

  2. July 1, 2009 2:34 pm

    I try to walk the middle ground when it comes to food. Striving for the Perfect Diet will only drive one crazy. I did pass on funnel cake the other night… big point for my heart.

    • July 1, 2009 5:31 pm

      Hi Wayne, You and your heart get big points on the funnel cake denial :) And let’s not go anywhere near the subject of “Perfect Diet”! I’d just like to get people thinking of where/how far their food comes from & how it was produced. And if the diet includes meat, what practices are involved that affect the health of the animal (not just well-being, but issues like how grain makes cows physically sick, but it’s what they’re “finished” on), and ultimately, the health of the ones eating it. Thanks for coming by.

  3. July 1, 2009 6:24 pm

    On Saturday my town, Lansdale, PA… is having there first Farmer’s Market in the 12 years I have lived here. I can walk! That is something to add to the celebration of the 4th.

    When my wife quit eating most types of meat, I came to a different conclusion. I preach moderation, with moderation the animals could be treated better, our health would improve, and less land use problems would arise… Since America has been slow in listening to my preaching, I hope the movie calls them into action.

Leave a Reply

