Skip to content

gone travelin’

July 2, 2009

Been too long since we took a serious trip. So tomorrow kicks of our tri-country, intercontinental July! Just because I might not get to post for a while doesn’t mean I won’t be racking up 100s of pictures and stories for you. Please stay tuned!

First we’ll celebrate our nation’s independence with le jazz hot in Montreal, Canada.

My honey has been a few times but missed the past couple of years, so this is what he asked for for his birthday, which is in April. Looking forward to a swim somewhere amid the 10,000 Islands when we cross the St. Lawrence, which is probably still freezing.

Next Thursday we take off for London, where neither of us has ever been! We’ll have a day to sightsee, eat fish & chips, & stroll down Portobello Rd. …

before our friend, Em, whisks us off to the Welsh Borders to see her family.

Kinda reminds me of Slaterville.

Then back to the city for a Chunnel over to the Continent
chunnel picnic via Flickr

to Paris, specifically, St. Germain,

where one of us will be conferencing and one will be losing herself, and hopefully nothing else, in the gardens and parks of the city.

What could top that? Maybe only Garden Walk Buffalo the last weekend of July. I hope that after 5 straight weekends away from home, I will still muster the enthusiasm to make it a 6th.

No, the Pooker doesn’t get to be The Beagle Who Went to Paris, but he’ll be staying at home with good company.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2009 4:27 pm

    Glad to have Buffalo be part of your whirl-wind, worldwide trip! Make sure you stop by my garden!

  2. July 6, 2009 7:18 am

    Oh the expletives! I’m so envious I can hardly stand it – you never even once mentioned you were going to PARIS! (or did I block it out for the sheer green envy?) And Wales too?? My other favorite place ever… Sh**t. Have a wonderful perfect amazing time and please, if you can, give us poor homebody slobs a tiny taste every of traveling joy every now and again.

    • July 6, 2009 2:08 pm

      I would never not share with my homebody gardeners but PLEASE! The Slaterville winter was sooooo long, and a girl’s gotta get out now & again. It’s tough to leave right now though, seriously. We wait so long for these short months of profusion. Next year, I’m requesting the all-fired FEBruary vacation to somewhere south of the Mason-Dixon.

  3. July 6, 2009 8:36 am

    Have a good trip.

    Too bad you didn’t get a chance to stop in my neck of the woods, I would have been happy to show you around some of my favorite wildflower hunting grounds.

    • July 6, 2009 2:09 pm

      Thanks, Wiseacre! And next time I’m adding a wildflower hunting component when we go north.

  4. July 6, 2009 7:09 pm

    Damn right a girl’s gotta get out – just take me with you please! I definitely understand the pull to be home right now though. And I can heartily recommend PARIS in February too (well, it was nice in March anyway).

Leave a Reply

