Skip to content

pretty good Sunday

August 30, 2009

1. Cornell Plantations has its Fall Lecture series up. This is an incredible series and sort of special to me. It wasn’t long after I got here in 2007 that we attended the season’s first lecture and heard Diane Ackerman read from her book, The Zookeeper’s Wife. I was charmed, awed, and suddenly aware that Plantations was more than just a garden refuge for me. You can see a video of last year’s lecture highlight, Richard Louv’s “Last Child in the Woods: Saving our Children from Nature-Deficit Disorder” on CornellCast.

2. The Plantsmen nursery had its first Customer Appreciation Day today, with food, music, an outdoor art installation, and a scavenger hunt for free plants! As much as I would love to plant an Eastern redbud and some Ninebark in the front, I resisted, but brought home some on-sale perennials and picked up two freebies–a 2-gallon White Wood Aster and a 1-gallon Nepeta ‘Walker’s Low’ (Soon the garden will be only tufty plants with purple flower stalks. I should stop.). Plantsmen is a great place to find native plants and is Buddy-friendly, too. Get on their mailing list for good deals and announcements.

3. Craig at Ellis Hollow dug me up some boneset, Joe-Pye weed, and some asters for the ditch! He says his bog won’t miss ’em, and we love ’em. It started raining as soon as we got home: perfect Eupatorium conditions. Thanks, Craig!

pink Joe-Pye, white boneset, purple asters

pink Joe-Pye, white boneset, purple asters

gonna put 'em down at the lonely end of the ditch. That's a Joe-Pye cultivar I actually bought last fall.

gonna put 'em down at the lonely end of the ditch. That's a Joe-Pye cultivar I actually bought last fall.

4. Before all this, I got to talk to my good friend Andrea down in Tejas, from Grow Where You’re Planted. I hope it bucked her up knowing that their stellar season is just about to pop!

5. It stormed again, but stopped, so I still got to garden.

6. Saw the first Colchicum popping up under the black cherry tree as I planted the free aster.

7. Appreciated the first Japanese anemone bloom, the first I’ve ever grown, from tiny plants put in last fall. I’m so proud of these.

Anemone praecox

Anemone praecox

8. Talked to my dad.

9. Spent the whole day with Buddy until he pooped out and went to bed.

10. Sweet corn.

Hope your Sunday was equally fruitful, or just good and lazy.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2009 7:54 am

    Wish you were a bit closer. I could add some boneset, elecampane, vervain and turtleheads from my ditch. Can’t forget one of my favorites either – but the flat topped white asters are everywhere but my place it seems.

    Sunday was just good and lazy – like everyday around here.

  2. cby permalink
    August 31, 2009 8:12 am

    Hooray for those of last fall’s crop that made good on the hopes instilled in them! And hooray that storms weren’t the end of the day, a pooped Bud, sweet corn, free plants and all the rest!

  3. August 31, 2009 10:46 am

    I want to hear Claire Sawyers speak in October on the Authentic Garden. Maybe we can go together?

    • August 31, 2009 11:02 am

      Me, too! Sounds like a plan. If you have time, you can stop at out place for dinner on the way into town.

  4. September 1, 2009 11:42 am

    sounds like a full sunday! glad you found some goods to bring home from the plantsman – the nursery i was going to was closed, but i made good on the daisy dollars yesterday on some carex and “new” fragrant daylily varieties for our boggy area out back. your photos remind me to be on the lookout for joe pye at the upcoming master gardener sale, i forgot what a great plant it is!
    have a great week, and keep your eye on the mail…

    • September 1, 2009 9:40 pm

      Good to know that daisy dollars work on daylilies, too :) Funny, I just dug out a mess of ditch lilies (that were not in the ditch). And I bet they were wishing they were “new” and fragrant, too. Does Joe-Pye grow in ctrl TX? I never knew it til I came up here. hmmm. Thanks, lady, and you do the same :)

Leave a Reply

