Skip to content

Catch 22–degrees

December 16, 2009
tags:


I find this fascinating.
And apparently the Game Farm Logger takes a lunch break ;)

The season of weather watching has begun.

Update: Click the link or image to go to the weather page to see the soil temp columns the commenters refer to.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2009 12:07 am

    soil temps too! that will be an interesting column to follow.

    • December 17, 2009 1:13 am

      Yes, and it would have been even more interesting to know just how frozen solid the stock tank soil was when I chipped the poor plants out of it (after a “moderate” 38-degree day!). More on that soon…

  2. December 17, 2009 10:42 am

    The soil temps are interesting – the deeper 8″ is colder than the 4″ depth. I wonder what the mechanics of that are that taht would happen?

    • December 17, 2009 4:50 pm

      I’ve been wondering that, too. Maybe I can do some digging on the subject. hahahahaa

  3. Kylie permalink
    December 17, 2009 5:13 pm

    Cool! Um, literally I guess.

  4. December 17, 2009 6:27 pm

    I use this mostly in spring to remind me that the subsoil remains cold even when the surface soil is warmed on sunny days, and I maybe should wait to put out seeds or plants that like warm soil, as the surface soil will cool again quickly when the air temps go down and there’s less sun.

    I have no clue why the deeper soil is colder at this time of year. That’s more typical when the air temps are warming up, not cooling down.

    • December 17, 2009 11:00 pm

      Well I was already curious about the cooler subsoil and after Jim mentioned it, I’ll have to track down why. That’s far more interesting than almost 12 straight hours of 22 degrees anyway!

Leave a Reply

