Skip to content

a little bit of teacher in me

January 15, 2010

I was asked back this year to give a couple of beginning photography workshops to a group on campus. I’m not a natural at it, but today was fun. It’s a thrill to give newcomers some of the basics and get them fired up and (I hope) ready to experiment with a few rules & tools. Here’s the presentation (no audio, so imagine the cheerleading), using a nifty new-to-me site, Slideshare. Happy picture taking!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2010 3:20 am

    Great presentation, and really gets into some interesting (and quite complex) details. I am sure you explained it very well, I learned a ton just looking at the slides. Ah, and I love Slideshare. Could you see yourself teaching more often? I totally think you are a natural: patient, loving, open, kind.

    • January 15, 2010 10:23 am

      Thanks, Judy :) I’d enjoy more informal teaching like this. I discovered it’s easy when the subject is something you love!

  2. Kylie permalink
    January 16, 2010 5:43 pm

    What a fabulous class. I just learned a ton! Once I graduate I’ll take the time to really go through this and follow your advice. Thanks for putting that up.
    xx

  3. January 18, 2010 5:30 pm

    I want to take your class for reals! I learned just enough from your slide show to make my head explode a little. (The f/16 rule??) Plus I miss the cheerleadering. (Don’t we all need that – and I know you’d be brilliant.)

  4. January 18, 2010 6:41 pm

    p.s Based on a few comments here, maybe I could simplify some of the material. It’s hard when there’s just an hour and a lot of “basic” to convey.

Leave a Reply

