Skip to content

Seed City

January 28, 2010

The Ithaca Agway is the Sak’s of Seeds. Witness.

There is a rack just as big out of frame left, and they are not finished putting them out yet! What does look complete is the rack of Botanical Interests seeds. I have a gift cert to buy from them directly, but couldn’t resist getting a few I don’t want to miss: the ‘Alaska’ Nasturtiums we loved last year, black and orange Pansies, fragrant Sweet Peas (1st of a few kinds I think), Nigella (which never sprouted last year), good ole Zinnias in pastel, and some Little Bluestem grass I hope will fill in the bare hillock where new shrubs are small. Now to stare at them until at least the end of March.

This reminds me, NARGS seed exchange orders are due by 10 Feb., and I have not finished picking mine, though I swore I’d do it early so I could enjoy carefree outdoor cold stratification (and friends, it’s cold outside).

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2010 7:46 pm

    Wait until the end of March? No way, I could never do it!
    lol.
    Have you never tried Winter Sowing?
    http://www.wintersown.org
    Honestly, I couldn’t make it through our stinker NY winters without it!
    It’s how I start almost all of my seeds now. Of course, I still have to do those few here and there inside just to be able to baby something green.
    Our Agway is a slacker this year – they had some kind of shipping problem and the seeds are late getting in. Thank goodness the only thing I want this year that I can only get there are the Purple Haze carrots.

    • January 28, 2010 8:18 pm

      Hi Tina & welcome! I studied up on winter sowing last year and hope to be in time with some seeds to do it again–worked well for nearly everything I tried. March is about the first we can plant seeds out around here, but I’m going to have to try some inside, too. I even have lights! Bummer about your Agway. Order online?

  2. January 28, 2010 9:06 pm

    Even though I usually order almost all my seed online, I still love the Ithaca Agway’s seed selection. I always forget something, and when I go there to fill the gap I always see half a dozen other things that I should have ordered. Great selection.

    • January 28, 2010 11:32 pm

      I think that’s their secret to success–there’s so much great stuff that it’s easy to find a half dozen (or more!) must-haves. No where else have I seen so many seeds in one place.

  3. January 29, 2010 10:02 am

    My sister introduced me to the Ithaca Agway last year. Binghamton is a bigger city but I don’t think it has anything comparable.

    • January 30, 2010 11:23 am

      Kathy, I think I heard from your sister on the blog last winter, and she said she drive 2 hrs to Ithaca for the seeds. It will certainly spoil me for variety forever!

  4. January 29, 2010 5:19 pm

    Oooooooooooooooooh. I mean oooooooooooooooooooh. Seeds. I am up to my earrings in seed catalogs right now and have never been happier. Nice visual. Brought my blood pressure right down. Ooooooh. Thank you.

    • January 30, 2010 1:31 pm

      :) Happy to help, but it sent my blood pressure right up! I’m already feeling a little bit of stress at feeling behind the winter sowing. Enjoy your catalog color! It IS the little things.

  5. February 3, 2010 11:28 pm

    ahh, agway in spring time… what a lovely image. even mr. grwhryrpltd knew exactly where it was when i showed it to him on my phone! guess i’d better get the seeds out and the potting bench cleared off…

    • February 4, 2010 6:38 pm

      :) It’s time! Show us that potting bench of yours in full seed-mania!

  6. February 28, 2010 5:52 pm

    I want to go I want to go

Leave a Reply

