Skip to content

GOOPS! February 2010

February 4, 2010

healthy in high summer

In my first contribution to Joene’s Gardeners Oops Day, I will tell you something you’ll likely hear again:

I procrastinated!

This time, it probably cost me some nice plants.

Late last spring we acquired a nice old stock tank, figured out some filler, and got it planted. Margaret at A Way to Garden made putting Hostas in pots seem like a great idea, and so a divided Sum & Substance helped fill out the largish planter. Along with primroses, Lobelia, sweet potato vine, Lamium, and a couple mini Hostas, it and gave us beauty at the edge of the porch all summer long. Trick to hostas in a pot is you must remember to move them into real earth before winter hits.

Winter hit.

I kept saying “I need to move that stuff,” but days got short, one thing got in front of the other, and suddenly nights were in the 20s.

On the first night it was predicted to snow diligently, I went out to dig them out of there, hoping it wasn’t too late. The ground was sluggish but friable, and digging some graves trenches in the empty veg plot was easy. Hope! The soil in the tank? Well, the man came home to find me jumping up and down on a shovel, bouncing off the icy surface. (If only there were video of this snowy, desperate sight.) Pouring warmish water around the drip line softened things up enough to pry out a few chunks to move into the veg plot.

And that’s not all. There were seedlings I never potted up, babies I neglected. Lots of them. They, too, now share a grave trench, and everything is piled with 6 inches of chopped leaves and a little February snow. If they come out alive, I’ll swear an oath to never let winter catch me lazy again.

As Joene says in her recent GOOPS, “Caring for plants, just like caring for any other aspect of life, requires vigilance … sometimes more and sometimes less.”

For the lovely “less” of summer, they deserved more vigilance before the mercury fell. More an “oh crap” than a Goops, but hey, I’m owning up.

Postscript. Goops Day is the first of each month. I’m 3 days late with my post. Typical.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2010 9:40 pm

    So much of gardening is owning up, isn’t it? Good for you. And thanks. IT makes the rest of us–who did very similar things–feel like we have good company.

    • February 4, 2010 10:06 pm

      It is, it is! The thanks is Joene’s for making a fun occasion to fess up! Thanks for stopping by to commiserate.

  2. February 4, 2010 11:23 pm

    I’m glad you opted to come to the party late, rather than not at all. Procrastination … isn’t that every gardener’s middle name, at least sometime in their gardening life?

    • February 4, 2010 11:34 pm

      It’s my name too often, Joene. In gardening and other life…

  3. February 4, 2010 11:52 pm

    Oh well, live and learn (sometimes). If only I hadn’t waited to empty out my nice, big $30 terra cotta pot before the freezes set in.

    • February 5, 2010 12:02 am

      Let’s hope there was some learning, Phillip! Maybe a little freeze just toughened up your $30 pot, as I hope it did my hostas…

Leave a Reply

