Skip to content

a February bloom day

February 16, 2010

We have life! (and sun!)

we have texture

we have nuance

we have a warm muzzle

and one lonely little Begonia for a February Bloom Day

Thanks to Carol at May Dreams Gardens for hosting Garden Bloggers Bloom Day. Go visit to see what’s in bloom all over the world.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2010 1:28 am

    Ah, what really nice photos of winter and the single little begonia. I can feel the season not only in the whiteness but in the wide open spaces of the images.

    • February 16, 2010 12:50 pm

      Thank you, James. That’s really nice to hear since I’ve had some technical challenges shooting the snow the way I see it.

  2. February 16, 2010 2:29 am

    i love your photo vista on the world and your lovely begonia and your even cuter doggie!

    • February 16, 2010 12:41 pm

      Thanks for the nice comment, Noel. Anyone who appreciates a good Beagle is especially welcome :)

  3. February 16, 2010 8:17 am

    You have it all!

  4. Nell Jean permalink
    February 16, 2010 10:08 am

    We all need to make a note about Begonias. They are brave little plants and bloom all winter inside. Happy Bloom Day.

    • February 16, 2010 12:31 pm

      Happy Bloom Day, Nell Jean, and thanks for stopping by. I never knew about Begonias and was a little scared of them, but my little eyelash plant is so tough and pretty, I can’t imagine not having one. See you next time.

  5. February 16, 2010 5:15 pm

    I’m a recently converted fan of begonias!
    My mum grew wax begonias as an edging plant in Australia and they were never one of my favorites. I’ve used them a little in planters for quite a few years, but just these past 3 years I’ve discovered how easily they overwinter and how well they bloom while doing so. That in itself elevates them to a much higher position of respect for me :)
    I now love all manner of begonias. I was given a pretty Star begonia with beautiful leaves and pretty pink flowers…when it blooms. However, it’s not doing much at all this winter, which is quite a puzzle to me.
    We have to look for the little signs of beauty in the winter garden, but they’re there :) I sure am looking forward to greens, other bright colors and warm air though.
    Jake is a sweet pooch. We had a beagle once. Her name was Lucy and she loved to wander. That’s how Kylie came to have her…and eventually left her with us (Kylie was attending college in Ohio when Lucy “found” her).

    • February 20, 2010 11:15 am

      I’m with you, Kerri. Never cared for the outdoor common begonias. A friend gave me a Rex ‘Escargot’ when she moved away, and I love it, though it’s suffering. Now I want more of them! Kylie never mentioned you had a beagle in the family. Lucy is a great name. Green and color are not far away!

  6. February 16, 2010 11:12 pm

    My favs are nuance and of course muzzle.

  7. February 17, 2010 10:30 pm

    Love, love the muzzle. I lost my ancient wonder beagle (one week shy of 18!) over a year ago now, and although I dare not get another dog right now (three is plenty, don’t you think?) – I just think that a household without a beagle is just a sad place. I’ve never known a creature to be so engaged each and every morning – she was an inspiration.

    I had totally forgotten about Garden Bloggers Bloom Day – my schedule is so strange right now – need to work on that. Glad that you have signs of life!

    • February 20, 2010 11:19 am

      Aw your wonder beagle sounds like a joy. I’m sorry she’s gone. One is a lot of dog for us, so I don’t know how you do 3! When we get a little more space we’re getting Buddy a buddy. I was grumpy about Bloom Day but decided to buck up and look at what we have.

  8. Kylie permalink
    February 19, 2010 11:03 am

    Hey Love! You are wonderful at finding inspiration in landscapes that seem so monotonous at first glance. Thanks for opening my eyes. And that beagle! I’m so in love with the beagle.

    • February 20, 2010 11:09 am

      That’s sweet of you to say–thank you! I give your love to the Pooker.

  9. February 21, 2010 12:57 pm

    nuance and texture, so very pretty…

Leave a Reply

