Skip to content

this was Bloom Day

April 21, 2010
Pulmonaria

Lungwort is spectacular. Get close to see the flower texture.

with Chinodoxia, which was about all that was in bloom last April

Pulmonaria rubra

It even comes in red! Pulmonaria rubra

rubra reminds me of weedy-looking desert flowers, kinda tough

Candytuft? This was a passalong from Lucie.

Giant Muscari

The white Muscari emerged much earlier than the blues in these giant types.

self-sown Scilla in the grass

Primula polyantha just keeps getting better

We also have tons of baby Muscari that have sown themselves throughout the grass over the years, and the violets are beginning to take off. We’re awash in blue. Although I’m late to the party, it’s always fun to share the flowers on Garden Bloggers Bloom Day with Carol from May Dreams Gardens and all who join in.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2010 7:08 am

    That Rubra reminds me of you, my Dear! Beautiful and tough! I’ve never happened across the candtuft before. really lovely.

    • April 22, 2010 8:15 am

      well thank you. It’s a quality I like in friends, too :)

  2. April 24, 2010 12:35 pm

    lovely lung worts, i’ve not noticed the tiny venation(?) in the flowers before! my mom calls them brothers and sisters since they flower both blue and pink on the same plant.
    pretty scilla you found there too!

    • April 25, 2010 3:35 pm

      I’ve not heard the brothers and sisters–the red/blue blooms together are pretty cool. Reminds me of Borage that way.

  3. April 25, 2010 6:17 am

    our candy tuft is glorious again… love how it glows at night. saw much beauty in my garden yesterday as I gave it some sttention, but also came across a monstrous weed…. poison hemlock… kind of cool, kind of scary

    • April 25, 2010 9:41 am

      You know, i’ve taken to wearing gloves even when out just pulling weeds. I keep reading how different plants are irritating if you touch them, and how many are poisonous. But poison hemlock is the real scary deal!

  4. April 26, 2010 12:05 pm

    I love Muscari (maybe because they do so well here). Same goes for Scilla. The red Lungwort is new to me. I am used to seeing the lovely blue form. It isn’t grown often here. I think I prefer early spring bulbs to the later flowering ones. Maybe it is because they are so wonderful to see after months of snow.

    Have a good week. Your photographs are stunning, as always!

  5. April 28, 2010 11:09 pm

    Here late, but wow…your photos are delightful! Pulmonaria rubra a stunning photo~ I love spring! gail

Leave a Reply

