Skip to content

a day like today

April 30, 2010

It’s the trees that mean spring to me now. Over the weeks, we’ve been watching the hills change from silver grey and evergreen to a gentle lime gleam, broad blushes of rouge, and now big bursts of white are shouting that it’s going to be 80 degrees here tomorrow. First it was the Juneberry (Amelanchier) against walls of tree skeletons, and now it is the apples in the hedgrerows and front yards. Pinks, too, but me I like the impossible bright white.

I’ve photographed enough trees for a whole week’s series: Juneberry, dogwoods, magnolias, apples and crabapples. Between bathing the dog of skunk oil and other projects, I haven’t had time to post them. So here is one for you tonight, from a day like today. It’s from a project I’m excited about, in which I get to write and photograph about my passions, like the trees.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 1, 2010 6:31 am

    Isn’t this just absolutely the best time of year?! (blissful sigh) Can’t wait to see your tree pics and prose – are you working on this project for here (I hope) or elsewhere?

  2. Kylie permalink
    May 1, 2010 8:14 am

    Tell us more about your project! I can’t wait to see what you’re up to. That’s a beautiful photo. I love the trees too. The flowering trees are mostly done here now, but for a few fabulous weeks NYC was lit up pink with cherry blossoms and then dogwood. magical.

  3. grwhryrpltd permalink
    May 3, 2010 9:38 pm

    can’t wait to see what the trees have shown you this spring, and looking forward to hearing more about your project…!

  4. May 4, 2010 8:40 pm

    That is one great photo of a tree I adore.

  5. May 10, 2010 8:49 pm

    Tulips and Azaleas are fine and certainly showy, but I enjoy watching the woods open up in spring even more than seeing those scene stealers.

Leave a Reply

