Skip to content

May dreams come true: bloom day

May 14, 2010

It’s the day May Dreams Gardens fulfills its name. Thanks to Carol for hosting bloom day and getting me out with a camera to look at our garden a bit closer today. There’s wonderful stuff out there, and it’s gratifying to see how this young garden is growing up–there’s so much more going on in the beds this May than last. Plants are bigger, or there are more of them since being divided. The blooms aren’t the small islands of color they used to be but are beginning to wash together into a sea.

My favorite is still the Anemone sylvestris. Can you tell?

The Solomon’s Seal is spreading and happy under the old black cherry tree. It moved in just last fall. href=”https://travelinbride.files.wordpress.com/2010/05/bloom-day-may-2010-solomon-96801.jpg”>

The first bloom on bud-laden cranesbills opened today. These fall passalongs from Craig are settling in well.

This chipper little Jacob’s ladder just arrived a few weeks ago. I will probably have to be moved since the hosta is likely to smother it.

Learning to get along with native Celadines. I’ve pulled a jillion of these out, but they’re allowed to live way out in back.

The double yellow Columbines began opening today. Several others are about to pop, too!

It made my April heart sing to see that the Allium rosenbachianums have doubled their blooms since last spring, their first.

There’s no danger of forgetting the forget me nots. They would rule the place if allowed.

These Centaurea montana are really special to me. We got them at my first Ithaca Plant Sale, three years ago today. I took a chance on an unknown with a poetic name like “mountain bluets,” and they’ve thrived and thrilled me with this bloom that looks like it should live at the bottom of the sea. I divided them and now have many, and I kind of love them in front of the parrot tulips.

I’m pretty sure this flower calls the shots out there.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2010 7:11 am

    The anenomes are nice, but I am a sucker for alliums and appreciate the worms-eye view you took the shot with.

    • May 17, 2010 7:45 am

      I’m a sucker, too, Les. Can’t wait for the schubertiis to come up. And there’s a daintier variety I can’t recall the name of making buds out back. Maybe in time for June bloom day.

  2. Kylie permalink
    May 15, 2010 10:21 am

    Anemones! I love them so. And all the rest of your blooms too. I start planting veg and flowers next week on the farm- yay!

    • May 17, 2010 7:46 am

      Hey! We can’t wait to visit you up there and see you & what you’re doing!

  3. May 15, 2010 11:06 am

    OH! those aliums will forever be one of my favorites! love the anemones too, and the feathery tulip petals… happy may bloom day!

  4. May 16, 2010 8:40 am

    most wonderful, is that my flowers calling me for some attention????

    • May 17, 2010 7:49 am

      Thanks, Wayne. I’m never sure what it is yelling for me to go outside, but when i get there, these babies get a lot of fawning.

  5. May 17, 2010 6:55 am

    There are two plants called celandine poppy. Stylophorum diphyllum is the native. Chelidonium majus is not. I think you have the non-native one.

    • May 17, 2010 7:47 am

      bummer. As long as it stays well behaved I can live with it.

  6. May 17, 2010 7:26 am

    Your photos are sooooooooo gorgeous! I have never gotten a shot I like of Solomon’s seal so that might be my very fave if I had to pick one. Spring has truly sprung in Slaterville by the looks of it. Dreamy!

    • May 17, 2010 7:48 am

      Thank you Ms. K! I’ve never had Solomon’s seal and finding it very fun to photograph, muddy knees and all. We’re feeling pretty good about spring for sure.

Leave a Reply

