Skip to content

Win cash money for that garden picture

May 19, 2010

$1,000 cash money! If you haven’t started exploring your garden with a camera yet, perhaps this will entice you:
Horticulture magazine is hosting a photo contest to be judged by garden photographer Rob Cardillo, and the grand prize is a grand! The winning photo will appear in the January 2011 issue of Horticulture.

Deadline is fast approaching: June 1, 2010. Go enter soon!

What’s making it difficult for me is that there are no guidelines on content, just open-ended “garden,” and that could be anything! There’s a $20/entry fee, so that’s going to force a careful edit.

Should I submit a closeup?

a wide view?

something whimsical?

or close to the heart?

Only one thing is certain: pictures of Buddy won’t work this time. What are you going to enter?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2010 6:00 am

    That’s the problem with these darn contests – how to choose?! I can’t even help you choose – I think those are all perfect winners!

    • May 20, 2010 8:19 am

      You’re sweet, but all my high school teachers lied to us: we are not all winners. At least of cash money. If anything it will be (another) good exercise in editing.

  2. May 20, 2010 8:27 am

    My favorite photos so far have not been of my garden! Would they accept my Stockton Bury Sheep shot! I agree with Kris~your photos are winners~gail

  3. May 22, 2010 6:54 am

    Thanks for the heads up. I guess if there are not guidlines, you make your own and hope it has appeal.

  4. May 22, 2010 6:56 am

    I just went to the site and found one guideline, a $20 entry fee.

    • May 22, 2010 9:35 am

      Ah yes, that! That’s also got me thinking carefully.

  5. Kylie permalink
    May 23, 2010 9:30 pm

    I think you should send them all. I really can’t choose just one- I do love the anemones, but the way the sun comes through the red flowers is stunning. Argh, and then the contrast between the foreground and background in the other photo, and then there’s the delicacy of the Solomon’s Seal! I could never be a judge in a contest like this. send them all. Think of it as an $80 investment with a big pay off.

    • May 24, 2010 7:41 am

      you know, I still really don’t know. I’d like to do it justice and so will probably go back through all my files and pick one–soon!

  6. June 4, 2010 11:22 pm

    Well June 1 came and is gone… But I hope you found something you thought would be worthy. I liked all these selections, but there were some from your May bloom day post that I thought were great too–like the alliums and the house behind them. All the layered photos with the shallow depth of field are so refreshing.

    • June 5, 2010 5:09 pm

      James, Thanks for the nice comment. Horticulture extended the deadline to July 1 (must not have enough contestants to pay the prize), so you still have time if you’re so inclined.

      Happy weekend, Lynn

Leave a Reply

