Skip to content

secret swimming hole

May 31, 2010

We’re having the flip-side of last summer’s cool, grey, wet days: baking hot and dry. In these conditions, one needs a retreat that’s free from undergrads and hoooha. This is one of ours.

looking upstream southwest

looking upstream northwest

Where do you cool off?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2010 6:31 pm

    That looks a bit cooler than where I went on my memday vacay. (NYC – which actually wasn’t bad heat-wise. But then I did spend a grand part of one sunny afternoon sipping gin-laced lemonade inside a dark historical bar… Guess that’s where I cooled off!)

    • May 31, 2010 7:48 pm

      hmmm, did you get the recipe? I’m cooling off similarly this evening :)

  2. May 31, 2010 10:29 pm

    it looks sooooo cool and inviting… how i WISH we had a similar dippin’ spot in our neck of the woods – one that didn’t require a three hour drive, that is… enjoy it for us!

    • June 1, 2010 6:26 am

      Wish we could meet up there, too! No doubt y’all had some secret spots of your own out here.

  3. June 1, 2010 6:39 am

    Those mountain streams are so deceptive. You get all hot and sweaty and think a dip in them would be lovely and refreshing, only to freeze with water delivered straight from the arctic through a series of underground tunnels. My preference is for the nearby beach, but it is still too cool for me to want to venture in. Usually by late June the water is where I like it, and then we have a month or so to enjoy it before the Stinging Nettles and Jellyfish move in.

  4. Kylie permalink
    June 3, 2010 10:03 pm

    Ooooh! I think I’ve been to your secret swimming spot! We have a river to swim in here. want to come visit and try it out with me?

    • June 4, 2010 8:25 am

      Yes, yes I do!! I’m even good with farm chores sorta :)

  5. June 4, 2010 11:12 pm

    What? No GPS coordinates? Keeping it secret, eh? Well I don’t blame you. It looks amazing for the hot weather you describe!

  6. June 6, 2010 7:53 pm

    hope it stays a secret. lovely

Leave a Reply

