Skip to content

Walking for the SPCA

September 20, 2010

Coming home day for Lucky Buddy Jake

If you’ve been here before, you know we have a soft spot for a particular Beagle and animal organizations like the Tompkins County SPCA. They helped Buddy get out of a home with too many animals so he could come home to ours. So we are putting our dog walking skills to use in “March for the Animals” to benefit our SPCA, a no kill shelter that is also the local animal control. The work they do hit home even harder this year when they removed 100+ animals living in hell in a trailer right down the road from us. I believe every one was adopted.

Please help us if you can. You can donate securely on my page:
http://www.firstgiving.com/thepooker

Every small contribution adds up to real help for dogs, cats, bunnies, horses, birds, reptiles, and people, too. It also helps this organization become a no kill model for other rural shelters. I set a goal of $250, and because the response from friends and family has been so powerful, I’m just $5 away. So I’m raising it to $500.

Thank you for your kindness.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 23, 2010 1:36 pm

    Lynn, I just popped inside from the garden to get the camera (;) and saw your comment. We have beautiful sunshine here today (on and off) and I’m trying to take advantage of it. I might get some gardening done if I can stop letting myself be distracted by a bloom here, a butterfly there..birds, of course….and all those lovely wild asters and goldenrod blooming in the field (the reason I’m getting the camera)…and the sheep..and the cows…and…
    I’ve been wanting to tell you – we (finally) planted the Colchicums you gave Kylie and they’re blooming beautifully. I was wondering if you happened to get them as a passalong from CC Kathy because she has the same ones. She’s offered some to me in the past but we haven’t managed to meet up yet.
    It would be funny if “hers” ended up here on the farm via you :)
    What a great cause you’re championing. Thank heavens for people who are willing to rescue and protect those animals who need our help, and for those who are passionate about supporting their efforts. You and your hubs have compassionate hearts. Thank you! And Buddy thanks you :) Love that photo!

Leave a Reply

