Skip to content

Someone is growing in Slaterville Springs

January 16, 2011
tags:

In which we announce the mid-April arrival of Baby #1.

Along about early August last year, we got the exciting, humbling, mind-boggling news that we’re expecting our first child! Approximately 3 hours later, the fabled tiredness of early pregnancy set in, and you didn’t hear much from Slaterville.

Well, I’ve woken back up and have a belly full of tumbling baby to feel and dream about. We are all as healthy as can be, and two out of three of us are amazed and fascinated every day by the physical changes and spiritual awakening of becoming parents. (Buddy, I should mention, is as yet unfazed.) My honey and I are having fun learning together about natural childbirth, how to take care of a newborn, BPA-free everything, and we can’t wait to get this baby out to see the world. I’ve already heard climbing trips to Pakistan mentioned, as well as skiing through the woods on daddy’s back. I’m really looking forward to showing little hands how to dig in the dirt, and to stop to look at all the little things that sprout and crawl on the ground. (Watch, we’ll spawn a diehard video gamer who’s allergic to the outdoors.)

We’re waiting to know whether it’s a boy or girl, since there aren’t too many mysteries left in life. At around 7 weeks, we started using the pet name the “Blueberry,” which is what pregnancy.com compared the size to then. Later I added the middle name “July” in the process of reading Lonesome Dove and traveling to West Texas. My honey, not really a Blueberry July sorta fella, lobbied for Cletus the Fetus, but it didn’t stick.

I’m eyeing the horticulturally themed Name the Baby contest at Kiss My Aster, but we’re far from picking one ourselves. If you can think of a lovely but livable nature-y or plant-related name, please share it!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2011 8:03 am

    Congratultions to you, your life will never be the same.

  2. Kylie permalink
    January 17, 2011 1:45 pm

    Yay! I’m so excited to meet little Blueberry July. Or Boysenberry Semptember… Marionberry March?
    As for nature-y names: I know a Hickory, a Laurel and a Birch. Clover? Fennel? Anise? Sage. Rose. Bob. (Just threw that in to see if you’re awake.) In the tree vein, how about Beech and Ash for boys? Larch is probably too easily turned into Lurch by nasty little children on the playground…
    I’ll send more as they come to me. (oh no!)

  3. January 25, 2011 7:24 pm

    congrats, personally I think females stole all the good names: Hope, Joy, Faith, Grace…

  4. January 30, 2011 8:04 am

    January down, only about 10 weeks to go! I’m so excited for you!!! I’m smiling about your little family’s collective reactions to the happily anticipated event, and laughing out loud at Hubby’s name suggestion. Blueberry July is much preferred :)
    I’ll have to give some serious thought to horiculturally themed names, but just off the top of my head, how about Magnolia and Grasshopper? (please note the word, serious!) :)
    I do like Bob :)

Leave a Reply

