Skip to content

First snow, Chicago

December 20, 2011
tags:

Saturday. Fortunately it melted so that on Sunday I could plant the 20-odd Iris histrioides bulbs that I relocated here and that did not desiccate on the kitchen counter. ‘Katharine Hodgkin’ will be a welcome taste of NY home come March or April.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. grwhryrpltd permalink
    December 20, 2011 1:53 am

    yay for kathryn hodgkin! can’t wait to see how those little beauties transform your new snow-covered space!

  2. December 20, 2011 7:40 am

    I am glad your new home has some dirt to play in. We just had our first freeze yesterday, but it was not a brutal one.

  3. December 20, 2011 8:36 am

    We’re very grateful for the dirt space, especially the beagle. The yard is slightly twice as big as our former veggie patch, but that’s like gold in the city.

  4. December 20, 2011 8:58 am

    Snow days and a new garden to dream about – I’m so happy for you! (I was worried you might not have garden space yet… phew!)

  5. Randy permalink
    December 24, 2011 8:50 pm

    I think I saw your new place from the amtrack train heading east a few years back. I’m sure there are hundreds of places like I remember but your picture brings that memory back crystal clearly. Peering into lots of snowy little backyard lots from the train leaving Chico.

    • February 24, 2012 10:54 pm

      It’s true, we’re ubiquitous. I’d no idea this was a city of tall, skinny old houses. Even new ones are made to look old, but it’s just that they have to fit in those skinny old spaces. It all still looks strange to me.

Leave a Reply

