Skip to content

Once and future community gardeners

April 3, 2012

the view from our new plot

ITEM: We are officially members of the Woodlawn community garden. If that is even its name. There is no sign, no contact information, nothing formal about it at all, so getting in was a matter of stalking to find anyone who might be willing to part with a phone number. Seems it’s a loose affiliation of academics, longtime locals (and babies). In a stroke of either very good luck or just good timing, we secured two adjoining plots, and will garden right next to our real life next-door neighbor.

I got my start veggie gardening at Austin’s Sunshine Community Garden, and loved the freedom to create, the weirdos, the workdays, and the space as much as the lettuce and tomatoes. We’ll see how this goes, but one thing is for sure: access to very local, organic, affordable vegetables is looking up! Access to the community: seems it was easier than it looked.

They need cleaning up, but they'll do.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 10, 2012 8:08 am

    Hi Sweetheart! How great to have 2 plots in a row. Looks like a lot of work, but I remember how beautiful your last veggie garden was so I’m sure you’ll have that spic and span in no time! I’m having one of those mornings where I don’t know where to start: Mow the lawn? Shear the sheep? Finish the fence? Get seeds going? Unfortunately, I’ve been recalcitrant with my taxes so must work on them first. Hope you all are well and happy. I’m thinking about you!

    • April 15, 2012 8:48 pm

      With your to-do list I would be in analysis paralysis for a year! Taxes do bully their way to the top though, don’t they? I am psyched to see you blogging again–excited to see what marvels will come from your farm this year!

      • April 16, 2012 7:58 am

        Thank you My Sweet! It’s great to have the encouragement to keep blogging. I’m loving reading yours too! I don’t know that you want to put them on the web but I’d love some pics of that sweet beastie of yours. All of them in fact. It’s actually going to be hot today! How about in your neck of the woods? xx

  2. April 15, 2012 9:46 pm

    Enjoy the adventure and the veggies

Leave a Reply

