Skip to content

I feel the earth move

March 15, 2010

Happy Bloom Day! I have absolutely nothing to show you that you haven’t seen on other northern blogs (brown. a few cold & lonely bulbs, shoots looking promising), and Craig’s snowdrops are miles ahead of ours anyway. Nonetheless, we’re celebrating–after a weekend’s rain swept most of the snow into the creeks–the feel of the earth giving under rubber boots, the movement of a confident stride across wet grass instead of slow trudging in snow, and mud on warm naked fingers while we WEEDED and cut back old dead stuff that is not interesting at all minus the snow.
It’s the bloom on our cheeks we’ll be happy with for a while.

Thanks, Carol at May Dreams Gardens, for getting us thinking about & showing off our colors.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2010 8:15 pm

    Today my crocus clearly said…. We are sick of rain and come back on a rainy day

  2. March 15, 2010 9:31 pm

    nice! enjoy the mud on those fingers and paws…!

  3. March 16, 2010 12:13 pm

    I’m in the same boat, Lynn–just a few promising shoots coming up out of the mud. But yes, I think the earth is “moving,” and soon spring will truly come our way.

  4. March 16, 2010 7:45 pm

    Sing it! Here’s to pink cheeks and dirty fingernails from here on in. Cheers!

    • March 16, 2010 9:09 pm

      well we’re ahead on the dirty fingernails part :)

  5. March 20, 2010 1:35 pm

    Oh I guess I’m stuck in too much of a California frame of reference–I somehow thought immediately of earthquakes. Must be all those plants in the ground charging up for the coming warmth and light.

  6. March 24, 2010 9:21 pm

    I am there with you. That is exactly what my garden is like. perfect description. thanks for visiting today. Thunder was named by my then 5 year old. The Sire was named Storm, so logically, he named him thunder. who knew it would fit him to a T. He is quite a talker and barker. He turns 12 tomorrow. I can’t believe what a flash his life has been. so quick it goes by. They just don’t live long enough for me.

    • March 25, 2010 8:48 am

      Oh 12 years old! I wish he were still a teenager, Teresa. Their time is too too short. We told our Buddy he can’t die, as if we could. Happy Birthday to Thunder :)

Leave a comment